New Wreath Honours Quartet Killed in War of Independence

You are viewing content from Ireland's Classic Hits Radio Cork. Would you like to make this your preferred location?

A new wreath has been unveiled in tribute to four Limerick men killed during the War of Independence.

At a ceremony at the War of Independence memorial at the corner of Ennis Road and O’Callaghan Strand, Limerick Mayor Michael Collins unveiled the wreath.

On March 7th, 1921, sitting Mayor of Limerick George Clancy and his immediate predecessor Michael O’Callaghan were killed by British forces during a night of attacks on local government known as the Curfew Murders. 

On the same night, Volunteer Joseph O'Donoghue was killed by the same forces. 

On May 6th, 1921, Councillor Sean Wall, Cathaoirleach of Limerick County Council, was killed while fighting the Black and Tans at Newtown, Annacarty, Co. Tipperary.

The bronze wreath, which pays tribute to all four men, was commissioned and designed by artists Jim Lavery and Eithne Ring.

"These events serve to demonstrate the central role that Limerick played in the War of Independence, suffering 130 fatalities, the fifth highest death toll of any Irish county, after Cork, Dublin, Tipperary and Kerry," Mayor Collins said at the unveiling. "This unveiling of the new bronze wreath offers an opportunity for reflection and remembrance of all of those who lost their lives in the struggle. This period of our history, 100 years ago and more, has framed our lives since then and it is important that people understand and reflect on what happened."

More from Limerick News