Status Yellow Rain Warnings Issued for 18 Counties

Three Status Yellow rain warnings have been issued by Met Éireann across the country, covering 18 different counties.

In some areas the rain will last a total of 24 hours - starting at 4am on Tuesday and lasting until 4am on the following Wednesday.

The first Status Yellow rain warning covers Kilkenny, Wexford, Carlow, Tipperary and Waterford and will last until 4pm today.

The second warning covers Dublin, Meath, Westmeath, Wicklow, Kildare, Cavan, Laois, Roscommon, Monaghan and Leitrim. The warning is in effect until 4am tomorrow, meaning a period of heavy rain for around 24 hours.

A third Status Yellow rain warning was issued for Kildare, Wicklow, Offaly and Laois and will last until midnight tonight.

Met Éireann has said the rain warnings may result in localised flooding, difficult travelling conditions and poor visibility.

The rain will begin mostly in the south-east and will continue to travel northwards throughout the 24 hours. Munster will likely be dry by this evening but Leinster, Ulster and the Midlands can expect rain to clear up by early tomorrow.

Wednesday afternoon will remain cloudy with further outbreaks of rain and drizzle.


More from National News